Export mesh animation to .gltf / .usdz

Hello everybody. I’m not very familiar with Blender yet and this is my first project. I have been looking for a solution to my problem for a few days, but nothing has worked so far.

The issue
II animated a kind of “blob” by giving an Icosphere a Displace > Texture Modifier with a cloudy texture. I linked that to an Empty Plain Axes and that in turn linked to a Bezier Circle. The animation consists basically of this blob shape, which differs in a loop. Everything works fine in Blender but when I export it as .gltf or .usdz there is no animation. Only when I export it as .abc, everything ist fine too.

Blender Version 2.90.0 on Mac

What I’ve already tried

• First, I solved the animation differently by using a wave modifier. Unfortunately I have the same result here.
  • I checked “Use Nodes”. Same Problem.
  • I baked the animations, but Blender doesn’t do the mesh functions.
  • I saved the animation as an .abc file and then imported it again. Here the animation is converted into a mesh sequence. As soon as I export it as .gltf / .usdz, I unfortunately have the same problem.

Another problem is that the material won’t load either.

Please help me. Thank you!

If your animation can be baked down to a mesh sequence, then I think this workflow should be possible:

Basically you need to convert the animation to a sequence of morph targets (shape keys) by converting to .mdd first. Then the glTF addon can export that.

I’m not sure you’ll be able to do this with USDZ. In theory USDZ supports it but the last I heard, Apple’s USDZ viewers (which are usually what people mean when they ask about USDZ) do not support it. https://twitter.com/usdzshare/status/1256810461476995077

Hi Don. Thank you for your help. I converted the animation to shape keys and exported it to glTF. The glTF file is mostly fine, there is a loop animation (with a break in between, but that doesn’t matter).