Extruding-Scaling on Concave Objects

Hello Everyone,

I’m very new to Blender and hope thatyou can help me with this problem. Please forgive me if I’m notusing the correct terminology, however, I’ve taken some screenshotsto make myself more clear.

When I have a circle and want to createa bowl, I can easily select all the vertices and by extruding andscaling create a bowl-like object, perhaps using Scale/”0” as afinal step to cap and merge the vertices.

I’d like to be able to create the samebowl-like shape, with a clean, undistorted, and if possible perhapseven non-triangulated faces, when the verices do not form a crircleor a simple shape, for instance, such as what is shows here (a shapecreated using the Bezier Circle):

Unfortunately I have not been able todo it. The extrude/scale is not uniform, and if I use scale/”0”I end up with very long and thin triangles, distorted faces andhorrible topology.

I was hoping I could find a video tutorial that addresses this specific situation but unfortunately I could not find any, I’m certain due to my unfimilarity with the correct terminology. Could you please suggest my options. Is there more than one method of doing this? Thank you very much for your time and help.

another way would be to make a cross section of the bowl shape and spin it !

can you show a pic of the whole bowl you want to do !

happy bl

Put your 3D Cursor at the center of the concave shape (in the case of your skinny kidney shape, I recommend selecting two opposing vertices at the middle of the bend and using Shift-S to snap the cursor to the selection), then change your pivot point to 3D Cursor and scale. Everything will then scale toward that target instead of toward an average of the whole selection.

Just make a (big) face from all the vertices with [F] and press [I] to inset. This way, the newly created edge loop will scale uniformly.

When the big face becomes too narrow, delete it and close the hole manually.

Start other way around.