Eye W.I.P

Hey guys, I’m working on making a photorealistic eye. I’m having trouble getting the sclera right though. Any feedback would be greatly appreciated!

6 Likes

Yeah, if you have more details about the node set up that could help identify ways to help.
Are you using any specific resources or examples for the look you’re going for or is it just supposed to be as realistic as possible?

Hi, thanks for the reply. I’ll work on adding more info about the project. I’ve seen several methods for creating eyes, but none that I found were anatomically correct. I’ve been trying to base this off of anatomy reference with the goal of making it as realistic as possible.

Here’s the current node setup for the sclera, which has been slightly modified since I made this post. It looks better, but still not quite how I’d like it. I’m pretty new to blender, so most of this is just trial and error. I know a lot could be done differently, so I’m excited to get some feedback!

Here’s an updated render.

untitled
The sss is allowing too much light into the interior of the eye, so i may fade out the sss out closer to the cornea.

The eye is divided into 3 separate pieces, A glass layer that wraps around the entire eye, the sclera, and the pupil.
48%20PM 58%20PM

2 Likes

I definitely think you’re on the right track, I have a few suggestions to help.
1 - at the contact of the sclera and the iris their is a lot of SSS because of the ridge between them. So if you see a picture with the light coming from the side you’ll see a faint glow on the opposite side of the eye. I can see that there seems to be some of that in the Gif when the eye looks forward, but it would be a bit tighter to the eye and look stronger esspecially with that direct light at the bottom.
it’s a bit artificial, but this image really shows it.
eye-1173863_1280_web_600