F3D Cross platform 3D file viewer

https://kitware.github.io/F3D/

2 Likes

F3D, the fast and minimalist 3D viewer got version 1.2.1 !

It’s a versatile, small, cross platform and open-source (BSD) renderer for many 3D file formats (STL, glTF, step, ply, obj, 3ds, fbx, vt*):

It has a wide range of features: raytracing, volume rendering, sprites, camera positioning, color map, HDR textures, post fx options, coloring, animations.

v1.2.1:

• STEP and IGES files support
  • FBX, DXF, DAE, OFF files support
  • Thumbnails integration in Windows and Linux
  • Desktop integration in Windows, MacOS and Linux
  • Scalars looping
  • .deb package

Find the release here: https://github.com/f3d-app/f3d/releases

Disclaimer: I am a F3D dev.

4 Likes

Hello. Is it possible to make the stl preview of the top direction have +Z? All my models are lying on their side :frowning:
Screenshot_000221

f3d --up=+Z :slight_smile:

1 Like

I was referring to the preview in windows explorer

My bad, are you using Windows ?

Yes. Here is the explorer window. The preview of the obj file is fine, but the stl is lying on its side.

1 Like

I’m afraid there is nothing you can do on Windows. The orientation of the thumbnails are hardcoded. We have an issue to improve that:

You can also modified the source code if you are a programmer :slight_smile:

1 Like

Thank you, I will be waiting for updates.
A very good and necessary program.

Unfortunately, I’m not a programmer.

Does the program support bone only fbx animations ?
So that we can see the bone animation even if there are no mesh in the file.

Hi @anon62435837 ,

I’m afraid it is not supported YET.
There is an issue for it though: https://github.com/f3d-app/f3d/issues/56
Feel free to comment on it.

It’s ok, it takes a lot of effort and time to make something streamline and simple [art of sophistication], it is what it is :slight_smile: