face smoothing with boolean etc modifiers?

I’m trying to use a modifier stack that has a subsurf and a boolean. Also possibly a decimate. My problem is that the subsurf seems to preserve my face smoothing settings, but the others don’t. Decimate seems to leave every face as solid instead of smooth, no matter what I set the actual faces to in the model. I’ve even tried autosmooth, but it doesn’t help either.

I have the same trouble with boolean difference. The new faces created by the boolean are always set to solid, even if every single face of both objects involved in the boolean is set to smooth.

Of course, I could “apply” and bake the modifiers in, but that defeats the purpose of having them as modifiers.

I’m brand new to Blender - like about one day - so I guess I must be missing something about this. How can I control face smoothing of modifier created faces when I have applied a modifier stack to my object?

Thanks a bunch for any help to a total newbie!

Edit - this is with 2.49, which is the latest version I can apt-get.

I don’t get what you mean but hit Set Smooth to make all faces smooth. Hit Set Flat to make them flat. If you want to have sharp edges, first hit set smooth, then go into edit mode. Select the edges you want to be sharp, press Ctrl E. Select Mark Sharp. Leave edit mode. Go to the modifier stack and add edgesplit. Turn on Sharp edges and turn off Edge angle.

kingalex11235: Since the faces don’t actually exist (they are being created by the modifier), you cannot use set smooth on them. You can only set smooth the original faces you made on which the modifier is operating. Hence my question: if the modifier does not preserve the smooth attribute, how do you control which of the generated faces are smooth?