Faces vanish when displaying in textured mode, ok in shaded and ok in render

Dear all,

I have a problem with a model where some of the faces are not being shown when in textured mode. All was OK until I started texturing, now however I can see through some faces in the view window. Spinning the model around and looking the other way does not exhibit this problem.

I’m guessing there is some kind of odd problem but cannot figure out what. Indeed I now cannot tab into edit mode at all. Can anyone help? I’m very new to this and have spent many hours on a model that is now behaving very strangely :frowning:

1st picture is showing the mesh in solid mode, next is in textured.

Th render works OK, however this will eventually be exported for use in a 3d game so I need to be sure the mesh is correct.

Hope someone can help.

Attachments

Try to dom the next steps:
go to edit mode, and select all. press CTR N. press ENTER.

if it will help, it means your problem was that you had some faces that was facing the wrong direction.

hope it will help…:slight_smile:

I’m not sure, but single sided faces will show this way in the Multitexture mode. Could you try going to GLSL mode and seeing if the problem still exists.
Alternatively, if you don’t mind the opposite side being transparent, just flip the normal (Press W->Flip Normal.)
Hope this helps (and I’ve not got all my facts screwed up :wink: )

Like Aviad said, just go into edit mode and select all faces then press Ctrl+N then click on recalculate normals to fix it.

Dear all,

Thank you for the help, CTRL N worked on all but one of the castlations, the top front, which then went transparent. Selecting the individual vertexes/faces and using ctrn+n fixed these. Any idea why it didn’t do so with all the model selected? Also what does ctrl+n actually do? What’s a normal in any case? Sorry really green at this!