Factory WIP (Finished!)

Hi all!

This is my next project which I figured out I wanted to do. I’m almost sure that someone has done this before me and I know that it isn’t really original but I still thought it would be fun to do.

Concept:

My thought is to make a factory in the background out of which it comes a lot of smoke and blocks the sun for the little flower in the forground.

After one day of work, this is what I’ve come up with (step by step):

Attachments

Looking good. Now it just needs some good materials. :slight_smile:

thank you, yep I’m gonna go for some nice materials on this one - which is the part I’m most afraid of since I’m not very experienced with texturing… :stuck_out_tongue:

I like the composition of the shot and the camera angle.

Looking forward to the texturing.

I too like the camera angle, it gives the shot an ominous vibe.

Hi again!

Thank you for your comments, just don’t look forward to the texturing to much ; )

I’ve done some tests of the smoke which is to come out of the chimneys. (Some bug-editing is done in GIMP though not very big ones). I think that the first test looks as the better one since it is made with particles rather then placed out by hand as the second test is… big thanks to Francois Grassard for his tutorial on smoke in blender!

I don’t think I’ll show the smoke in any future updates until the final picture since it takes forever to render…

Also have added a brick texture to the big chimney, thanks to the built in brick pattern in the texture nodes that went fairly quick : )

Test 1 (please don’t look at the rest of the picture since this was only a test for the smoke…)

Test 2

This is already looking great.
Though I should get rid of the grass and make the background dark, this would give your render a dark and evil mood. The flower will stand out more then.

Just my advice, keep up the good work!