Faster mesh tools?

I’m still a Blender newb and currently working very slowly, constructing a mesh. I would love to know if I could speed things up:

• Is there a command to quickly delete floating, unconnected vertices?
  • Is there a faster way to create quads than selecting 4 points or 2 edges and pressing F? Is there a way of creating a ring of faces all at once?
  • Related to the above, how do I ‘bridge’ between two meshes? I have a rectangular hole in one object and want to connect a cube to it - do I have to create the 4 connecting faces manually or is there a faster way?

For this you can use the Bridge function in the Loop Tools addon which is in every Blender build now. More info on this addon:

https://sites.google.com/site/bartiuscrouch/looptools

• Is there a command to quickly delete floating, unconnected vertices?

in 2.57b you should have
In Edit Mode, click on Select -> Loose Verts/Edges

in 2.49b you shoule have
In Edit Mode, click on Select -> Non Triangles/Quads

(i don’t know the keyboard shortcut for them)

Then you press Delete

• Is there a faster way to create quads than selecting 4 points or 2 edges and pressing F? Is there a way of creating a ring of faces all at once?

Not sure it’s what you’re lookig for, but if you have lots of vertices in a closed fashion like this example :
http://i.imgur.com/3Gggm.jpg

In 2.49b press SHIFT + F (or click Mesh -> Faces -> Fill)
In 2.57b press ALT + F (or click Mesh -> Faces -> Fill)
to fill the closed selection like this :
http://i.imgur.com/aC7Yw.jpg

Sometime Beautify Fill can re-arrange the faces in a different layout that may be more satisfying after generating those faces
by pressing ALT+F in 2.49b (Mesh -> Face -> Beautify Fill)
or SHIIFT+ALT+F in 2.57b (Mesh -> Face -> Beautify Fill)

Then press ALT+J (or click Mesh -> Faces -> Tris to Quads) for both 2.49b/2.57b to convert the triangles into quads.