faye and spike of bebop

Hello everyone, this is my first submission. I’ve been learning blender intensively for about 3 months and I reckon it’s time to put something out there. I used 2.48 for these models and both are fully rigged though i’m currently redoing the spike spiegal one as the faye valentine is way more advanced technically (most recent of the 2) as my abilitys have improved. please let me know what you think so far as I intend to animate these models and I’m open to ideas on a scene they may be in.

BIG thankyou for all the tutorials out there. too many to name

faye’s head looks a little odd. I think either the hair might be too big or the face might be too small. Looking at a reference would help more than listening to me though.

Also her crotch area looks a little flat, it needs to bulge more.

Pretty cool so far

ooh thanks. I stuck to reference religiously when modelling the body, though with the shorts i did miss that (I only paid attention to the folds in that area).

the hair has been a nightmare. It’s made with 2 meshes/emitters, the first follows the hairline and sits close to the head (which i was happy with) and the second is above and overlapping the hairband that I haven’t been happy with.

some work will be done on these

here are some clearer pictures of what i’m trying to achieve with the hair:

after messing about with particles for too long and not being satisfied, i’ve been trying different ways.

it’s cartoon hair i’m trying to emulate so here’s a basic look at what approach i’ll probably be using.

any tips/ advice/ examples would be greatly appreciated.

yeah thats definitely the way to do it for toon shaded characters. Well thats what I think.

ok, so I’ve just re-done the hair, it may need tweaking (especially when the time comes to animate it).

The hairline section has way more vertices than I first intended to use, but I’ve made my peace with that seeing as I’m not using particles.