.fbx import comes in with no geometry

Hi, Im hoping that someone can help me here. Im an industry veteran coming from a AAA background using 3DSMax for over15 years. Im now a studio manager of a small indie studio and after being blown away by blender after picking it up last year (I tried it many many years ago and was not impressed), I am trying to get the whole organisation to adopt it, and I have been telling everyone who will listen how good a package it is now.

That was until some of our asset files would not import into blender, or rather they will import, but there is no longer any geometry that we can see or manipulate, and its causing me a great deal of concern as I have just hired a blender artist to take a lead on our promo materials I was hoping to do in Blender. If I cannot resolve this then theres no way the CEO will back my little project and I will be forced to let my new guy go, and I really dont want to.

Anyway some of our assets import fine as .fbx files, all the bones are present, we can animate them, assign materials and render to our hearts content, and the results are fantastic in such a short time.

But if we cant do this for all assets then its pointless. Attached you can see the problem we have when we import certain .fbx files. And these import fine into lightwave, 3dsmax, modo, and maya, just not Blender.

If anyone can help it would be greatly appreciated.

What software do you use for the export?
If you have the choice, use a old fbx preset like fbx 2012

Thanks for getting back, Ive just tried 7 different versions of .fbx export from 2010(not supported at all), 2011, 2012, 2013/2014, 2015, 2016, and 2019. These were all exported from Cinema4D, after an unsuccessful export yesterday from MODO. The exact same thing happens no matter which fbx format i export. Very frustrating.