Feature Film Pre-Viz

Hey Everyone,

I hope this is the right forum to post up this question!

I’m an independent Film Producer currently working on a bunch of different projects. I’m particularly interested in one project as a potential feature film. It’s based on a book which I now have the option for. I envision it as an animated film so I’m developing it with that in mind.

As you know, funding is always the tricky part with films (especially as an independent). I recently though of doing a pre-viz of the entire film, however, as a possible way to install faith in investors and give the whole thing a lift when it comes to finding distribution and financing.

I’ve come on here to ask a bit of advice and for some thoughts on the idea. What do you guys reckon the feasability of pre-visualizing a whole film are? I’m sort of looking for something along this level, give or take:

So I’m ideally wanting to use custom some character models and some custom animations because I want the pre-viz to feel cinematic and have some weight behind it (and not just be a technical marking system), but similarly I wouldn’t want to waste time on advanced textures or animating/modelling an entire crowd if it was unnecessary. It has to be watchable, but similarly it’s not supposed to imitate the real thing, so finding the balance between detail and lack of it from shot to shot is important.

The screenplay is in development but assume it’s going to be between 85-100 minutes, with about 90 being the ideal length. It is a fantasy film of sorts but it’s not quite on the level of Narnia or LOTR, certainly not full of mythical creatures or anything (most of the fantasy design would be focused on the landscape and sets). I can’t really give much more information without having a script but hopefully you get the ideas.