feature proposal: decal tools

ok, so i hate to be one asking for more,
and i’m no programmer so i can’t do it myself,
but…

it is already possible to position an image using an empty, but this can lead to problems:
if you want multiple decals the empties and layers quickly mount up.

what if you could position your decal with an empty and then like a modifier apply it and it gets stamped into a uv texture. I know your can render bake it it, but this is a slow process and a bit cumbersome.

my ultimate proposal would be layers for the uv editor (not uv layers, multiple layers in the image editor). layers could be positioned both through an empty and within the image editor itself. i think this could really speed up texture creation in many situations.

i’m not suggesting we rebuild gimp in the image editor window.
but imagine your texturing a footpath, decals for sewer covers, road markings, where objects meet the ground etc. postion your empty, hit apply (the modifier, or whatever, doesn’t disappear) reposition empty, apply, move, rotate, scale, apply. quicky a whole street is textured with detail and precision.

anybody have an opinion on this? feasible/not, good idea/not?
i really don’t want to get verbally abused for asking for something for nothing, i just thought i would share what i thought was an every project, useful feature suggestion.

I think you can either go with an empty or empties

and in case that does not work bake it into an UV texture.

claas

Why don’t implement a brush feature similar to Zbrush’s DragRect (stamp your texture on the model with a single drag), instead of using empties. It would very useful for sculpting aswell…

projection painting?
though “texture modifiers” in general sound like a good and unique idea. (though I have no idea what you could do with it, that you already can’t).

also +1 for layers in image editor
also procedural textures should show as layers too (though non-editable, unless baked))