[Feature suggestion - selection, materials] Long time Modo user switching to Blender

Hi,

[Selection]
Im very excited about new blender features and software overall. I’ve been using modo for almost 10 years and Im gonna switch completely to blender soon, but going to blender from modo, selecting is kind of nightmare and I think it’s easy to enhance in updates.

What would be great is if we could have selection painting keyable to for example LMB so I could paint faces like when Im pressing C now in blender, but without having to accept it later and with possibility to rotate during selecting. Its kind of crucial for efficent modeling and pressing C and RMB to just rotate is a little bit too much…

[Assigning Materials]
Possibility to assign material by just pressing single key and accepting a dialog box or something. In modo its very convinient. You just press M when faces are selected and accept dialog box - new material assinged to faces in a second. If we want to change some materials parameters we can do it in this dialog box, easy and fast.

Overall, great software, looking forward for what future brings!

About your first suggestion, you mean this?

2018-08-26_01-29-41

If yes, there you have it, and you can assign a shortcut of course…

And about your second suggestion, that’s one of the things I always hated in Modo :smiley:
I like the c4d way of assigning materials better… just select the polys and drag and drop the material on to it, done… No need to deal with dialogs and stuff… :wink:

Wow, thank you very much! Will play with it today. Didn’t explored 2.8 too much yet.

Materials, well I get your point. But draging n droping is still some process to make. You have to drag something from menu, in Modo you can be in full screen and just press M. New material - OK, old material - select from list.
But we can agree that is something to upgrade in Blender :wink:

Hello,
Adding materials like this is something that can be done through an addon.