Female Character [Nudity]

Hey guys this is my first attempt to make something organic. I have no idea what I’m doing but I’m determined.

Originally I was thinking of making a robot dino, but then I reread the rules for the blendswap competition and noticed it had to be humanoid.

I thought it would be a good idea to try something that I could get good references. So i will try to make something that looks human and then modify it to make it fantasy. I’m thinking the character might be a female elf or I might make it something like the character barb wire. I had these ideas before I saw the thread about the male elf.

So, I have been following the blendercookie tutorial and this is this is a basic block out. I will use this as a scale reference.

Attachments

You should sculpt because it makes more fast the work and well this is not a bad idea for modeling, and you still have a lot of work to do right now :stuck_out_tongue:

I can’t sculpt in blender. My computer is to slow.

I can’t believe how long this took me to do this, but I have done my first eye. I spent hours trying to figure out what the problem with my render. I finally found that I had forgotten to allow one of the materials to receive shadows.

Everything was made by me, even the iris texture.

Attachments

Hi Macktruck6666 - About the eye, I would suggest some faint bump mapping. As far as I understand, lens is separate, right? Then I could suggest hardening specularity. This and bump map, on veins and iris should give pretty nice results.

About modelling - Have U tried BMesh? Itr really speeds things up, as a middlework.
As always, Johnatan Williamson provides us with a great overview - http://cgcookie.com/blender/2012/02/14/blender-bmesh-modeling-system-overview-01/

Do the veins actually cause bumps on the surface of the eye?