Finally - my first real animation!

Well, here it is…

http://members.westnet.com.au/andydolphin/blender/torn.avi

Some of you will have seen a live version of this same performance. This is my interpretation of that performance with a few changes.

There are a few rogue frames in there but they occur in the Blender video render (the original still frames are clean) so I can’t do much about them. I’m still learning the whole video codec thing so hopefully this will play fine for you. It’s under 3Mb so no great loss if it doesn’t work - but let me know.

Ya know, that’s really rather good.

Some of the movements could be considered ‘stiff’, but what I like is your interpretation of the lyrics.

Is that some kind of actual sign-language you’re basing it on, or did you just look at the lyrics and think what kind of body-language would suit?

It’s got the makings of quite a good short animated piece if you stick with it and refine it.

Well done :smiley:

Actually, it is a blatant rip-off of a performance done by a guy from a comedy group calling themselves “Hollow Men” (hence the apology frame at then end). I have personally performed it live and this animation is based on my performance which differs a little from the original, The animation therefore is a parody of a parody of a parody.

So, unfortunately, I can take little credit for the interpretation or the idea. If you find a copy of the original, usually titled “HollowMen.wmv”, it would be interesting to hear your comments then as even the live performance is quite stiff :slight_smile: