Finally, TTF to Type1 (use your current fonts in Blender)

I found this the other day, and uninstalled Elefont :slight_smile:

http://ttf2pt1.sourceforge.net

windows32 and Linux :slight_smile:

WOOOHOOO

K-Rich

Thanks, for the Link, this has come up before but I am glad you pointed it out. If you get this to function, would you be so kind as to explain what to do with it. I am mainly a Windows user, but recently installed Mandrake Linux and am beginning to learn how to work my way around there. I am not a programmer and I for one could use a little help in getting this ttf2pt1 functioning.

Well, i have it compiled for windows… i’ll try to put it on my crappy geocities space tonight.

I’ve found this tool invaluable.

basiclly it’s like this

ttf2t1 -b <fontname.ttf>

and it creates the font so you can use with Blender… It’s not perfect, some fonts don’t work so well (the way it reads the bitmap) but… it’s handy

K-Rich

Hi K-Rich, I tried compiling it on windows, but got some unresolved externals, I guess it’s my old version of visual c++ again. So I’d be pleased if you put it up:)

Have fun,

Wybren van Keulen
Funny Farm

An already compiled version for Windows :
http://gnuwin32.sourceforge.net/packages/ttf2pt1.htm

Thanks for the link, IamInnocent, but geez it sucks. I need to install two external libraries even if it’s already compiled. I think I’ll pass.

hey, cool idea, i can finally use my collection of like [!] 500 fonts in blender. :smiley:

I use pfaEdit
(PfaEdit – A postscript font editor that lets you create your own postscript, truetype, opentype, cid-keyed and bitmap (bdf) fonts, or edit existing ones. Also lets you convert one format to another. )

http://pfaedit.sourceforge.net/

I load up ttf font, save it as pfb… that’s it.

it’s also a fullblown editor, to create your own fonts, of course.

.b