Finishing the game

I’m a high school student and, for a school supported contest called TSA, I have to be able to put a blender game I create onto a CD, and it has to be playable without downloading anything. So, is this possible with Blender? I’ve used it for a year or so now but never tried, and if it is can someone please explain.
In other words, I need the game to be playable from a CD WITHOUT having to actually download anything to play it. Thanks fore helping.

Yeah, you’ll have to create a standalone executable. You can do this with Blender’s ‘Save Runtime’ add-on (2.56). I’d still test it out on the school’s computer, though.

Just make an executable and keep trying to run it and copying *.dll files from the blender folder to your game folder until it runs without errors.

I found I needed to copy a load of *.dll files last time I made an executable. All the needed files can be found in the same folder as your blender.exe file.

Make sure you test it on another computer (preferably one which you don’t do dev work on) before publishing. A program that you have installed on your computer may have registered a .dll that blender uses so you might miss including that in with the game.

The latest run-time add-on allows for copying of DLL files automatically - make sure that option is ticked when you go to export the runtime (on the side menu, where the file menu opens asking where to save the runtime file).

To be sure you can copy your blender installation folder onto the CD = no download ;). But you shouldn’t need that for a standalone.

I think you should include Python on the CD. A few times a game worked on my PC but was giving errors on other computers because they don’t use Blender and don’t have Python installed.