First animation project - Waluigi dancing (please critique!)

Hello. I just learned blender a month ago and I finished my first animation: Waluigi dancing to “So What” by Loona.

I only rendered it in viewport as I thought the lighting aren’t necessary for now and I only focused on the animation. Also, I just played around with the camera that’s why the angles are kinda crappy (I’m trying to improve too my shooting skills lol).

I would really appreciate any feedback and criticism! I’m really trying to improve in Blender as I’m a beginner :(((

5 Likes

This was enjoyable!

Only thing I’d like to see is more movement & evidence of exertion in the facial expressions. Fun stuff, either way.

1 Like

Thanks! I will try to improve on my next animations using your feedback ^^

1 Like

Nice one!!!

1 Like

It’s enjoyable. Impressive for 1 month. Not sure if you know of MMD, but I got those vibes. To improve I’d say watch some dancing and try to copy it as exactly as possible. After that the next step would be to try to improve the dance.

1 Like

Thanks! I actually searched a solo cover of the dance online and I put the video as the background in the camera so I can copy the moves and key them for waluigi’s rig (as seen below)

Btw what can I do to improve the dance? I haven’t mastered the graph editor that much yet so as you can see in the video, I’m kinda having trouble making the animation smooth and most of the time waluigi’s dance moves are kinda stiff and robotic.

p.s would you recommend mmd? I actually don’t know what the software is so I did a little bit of research and apparently it’s an animation program?? Is it better than blender and should I switch to mmd or stay in blender? Thanks again :))