First attempt at organic modeling.

This is my first attempt at organic modeling.

I am trying to model a ‘base head-male’ that I can modify to make different faces

This is after 6 or so hours on and off work.

I know, I know. It looks like crap but Im hoping people could give me some tips on how to improve it. There are some awesome moddelers here that I am hoping to leech knowledge off of.

(I am trying to get it as realistic as possible BTW)

It matches the references I have found reasonably well (still a little room for improvement though.

It just doesnt look right, and I dont know why.

If the pics are too small I will repost them, I made imageshack make them smaller so they were easier to see.

Any help is appreciated.

http://img232.imageshack.us/img232/5536/bliddlehs9.jpg

http://img128.imageshack.us/img128/5343/bliddl2ehq8.jpg

http://img61.imageshack.us/img61/4944/bliddl22eyh3.jpg

wat modeling approach did you use? I find the head modeling tute at the start of the bsod intro to animation works really well.
good luck
drew
PS The model in my WIP(gman) was done using this teqnique as a base)

I got the Basic outline of the side profile in vertexes & edges, then etruded those edges into the segments you can see.

I was originally hoping to do it without subdivision (as all the models of guns I have done have been messed up by applying sub division) but I see it is good for organic looking things.

Thats a good technique, but makes for a strange looking(nad not animation firendly) model. I mean this in no way as a put down(I did the exact same thing when i started out ;))
seach “BSoD Intro to Character Animation” on blendernation.com
it has the tute posted on the blenderwiki. It shows a simple way to model a simple head, but i used it as the base for 'GMan". Its very useful/anim friednly. And pretty quick.
peace
Drew
PS smooth your model( in the edit buttons, second far right tab), then you wont need such a high level of subdivision(thus fast render speeds)