First go with blender and sculpt ...

Hey guys,
I downloaded Blender yesterday and was very impressed with what i could produce within a few hours of never using it before. I started playing with the sculpt tool and pretty much got hooked right away. Good work Blender team :slight_smile:
http://www.thedaveidentity.co.uk/web/seamonster.jpg
(Apologise if youā€™ve already seen this over at CGtalk.)
http://www.thedaveidentity.co.uk/web/devil.jpg
Cheers - Dave.

ha, dude, you got skillz! What app did you come from, if its not too inquizitive(sp?)
Great work, especially for your first project(regardless of past experience, blender is a bit tough to get used to)

Cool stuff (saw it on cgtalk :p)

You mentioned you couldnā€™t render it in blender. If youā€™re still having problems/whatever, there are plenty of tutorials, or I can always run you through it (itā€™s really simple :slight_smile: )

Hey Cheers mate. Iā€™ve been using Max for around 6 years and zbrush for around 18 months on and off, though never felt very comfortable with Z. To be honest i downloaded blender after seeing the promo thread on cgtalk with interest in the sculpting mode. Didnā€™t take too long to find the tools and after creating a simple box everything i needed was in that little sculpt panel. What attracted me so much was the fact it was so simple and just ā€¦ worked.
Well iā€™ve just picked it up again and iā€™m going to see what else i can create.
Someone over at CGtalk suggested using the Partial Redraw in the sculpt menu to improve speed, which it does however my mesh always turned black. Any ideas why this might be?
Cheers again - Dave.

Cheers Ian, iā€™m just looking over the render options now, How do you change the blue background?

its in the world settings

under the little earth icon

youll find AO settings in there too :slight_smile:

Hi Everlite! (also saw this at CG Talk) a.k.a CaptainBarbosa