First human model

So, I’ve been poking around with blender and the tutorials for a little while, and I finally put real effort into making my first low poly humanoid model for game implementation.
I have zero 3d modeling experience prior to this.

http://img715.imageshack.us/img715/1152/modelh.jpg

I’m not worried about the face right now.
It has not been fitted with an armature as of yet.

Any criticism would be helpful. Feel free to be as harsh as possible; I have no ego.

So um the feet(ankles?) are a bit small? even in your reference?
But i am not an expert on this (never did organic modeling)

The side view reference seems to be off a bit. When I was modeling the body it was fine, but when I started on the legs I noticed that it didn’t sync up. I moved it up a bit to line it up then the feet weren’t in the same position when I got to them… same with the arms/head.
I also didn’t like the way the legs looked when I had the feet lined up with the reference. They looked like chicken legs so I moved the feet back.
http://img146.imageshack.us/img146/1574/model2.gif

Looking at them again, the ankles are really thin from the side. When I connected the feet to the legs, I grabbed the top loop of the foot and bottom of the leg and smoothed a few times.

Thanks for the input.

Pretty good for a first model but I would suggest just throwing a 1x subsurf modifier with shading smooth just for presentation purposes;).

Even for a low poly mesh?
It just looks like an alien with any subsurf on it.

People are really hard to make so don’t get discouraged if it doesn’t go exactly as planed, but it looks good so far.

My first model was a sphere :slight_smile:

Well, technically I did make a complete humanoid with fully jointed fingers and all, but I learned that ctrl+w does not quicksave until you click… heh… heh… <cries>

So that was a waste of a few hours.
This is my first model that was saved properly.