First Project- Need serious feedback

ok, my name is Luke Mark Brady. im currently taking a games development course at college and ive taken quite well to the whole 3d side of the course, ive been learing blender for around 10 months or so mainly doing various tests with the 3D engine a have to say i love it!:o
anyway ive just finished my first serious project, im still yet to come up with a solid name but the render is complete.
im looking for some serious feedback, anything im doing wrong / correctly, or just any tips and critique
many thanks
http://img709.imageshack.us/img709/6849/dollfinalrender.th.jpg

http://img709.imageshack.us/img709/6849/dollfinalrender.jpg

L.M.B

wow :slight_smile: i like the character!

however, there seems to be something about the needle and string… the string looks a bit rubbery, and maybe adding a bit of reflectivity on the needle would help :slight_smile:

i’m far from being an expert, btw, they’re just things that stood out to me

I like the theme of your render. The character it is quite good. In my opinion, and at first glance, a few things stood out.

The hand holding the needle, it appears that it going through the mesh.

The mesh itself (or skin of the character) seems quite flatish, and quite un-interesting. I suggest you play around with the bump map some more to avoid the stretching.

The feet could be a bit more cute and shoe like. To me, the character is kind of creepy and menacing, so a little more emphasis on the cuteness factor will add on the mystery of this piece. All the best!

EDIT - you may wish to do a search on this forum by a member called Tictoon who did something similar called “Sackboy” or something rather.

im quite a noob at blender but it appears that the thread when looping over the top of the needle seems to be passing through the needel a bit, other than that its brilliant :smiley:

atm i only have 2 issues with it.

1. the DOF seems low quality (preview enabled?)