First project

As of today, I’ve had Blender for 15 days and spent a good bit of time on making this video to learn the “basics.” There are some minor problems that I could have fixed but, decided to just get it done so I could move on. The waterfall could’ve been touched up a bit…had a setting or two set wrong making the grass look bad. Some modeling and texturing could’ve been better.

My biggest problem was with lighting, lights seem to flicker on the textures. Being a noob, I set everything to emit .1 to ensure it would all show up, probably the main problem.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MLKSzQxqShw

left a comment :smiley:

Impressive work for such a short time …
I’m sure you will improve it more with time

Very nice.

A few very-specific pointers would I offer thee, if I may…

(1) First of all, you immediately and successfully take me “into a place” and give me the sense of “being there.” That isn’t easy to do, but in the first four seconds you did it. You immediately opened a gate and pushed me right through. Nice.

(2) At 0:08 and at various other places, there’s a definite variation in the shadow levels on the wall, giving me a consistent notion of “where the sun is.” It does not look flat. (It so-often does.) Nicely done.

(3) You definitely do have a problem with jerky motion … not sure why, but the sequence between 0:08 and 0:10 feels like going up a roller-coaster sideways. It’s very jerky; not smooth at all.

(4) In the sequence 0:17 to 0:21 you are taking me through a series of very interesting and engaging scenes. The waterfall is a pleasant surprise. Ditto the castle at 0:21. The stylized grass, while very stylized, nevertheless “works” because it never pretends to be anything else.