first time -- flower

Hello,

This is my first successful attempt at a flower. I started learning Blender last week, so I think this is pretty neat for a fresh newbie like me. Anywho, nice pictures of flowers will eventually be going to the gf.

So, I’m generally satisfied with the picture. Its not intended to be realistic, just interesting. Its been compressed a bit, so ignore the bit of blur and jpeg artifacts.

I’ve observed two problems, though.

First, there is a shadow falling across the left-most petals. I have absolutely no clue as to what is causing this. There are no other objects above the flower except the spotlight and camera. Does the camera cast a shadow?

The flower’s material is red, with specularity of yellow. The spotlight is also yellow. However, I’ve noticed there are bands of yellow falling off the main specularity highlights in the center. How do I reduce this effect? Do I just make my subdivisions higher when rendering (I think its already at 4)?

Finally, how might I increase the “depth” of the flower’s rendering so that the petals stand out a bit better against each other?

C & C are most definitely welcome.

http://wellsed.umd.edu/~blender/redflower.jpg

[/img]

thats great for a newbie like yourself , well done!!

J.Goss

well… I don’t think you need to subsurf any more… have you tried the “set smooth” button? I don’t know what is that shadow… maybe if you’ll supply a .blend we could tell you. in order to make the patal stand alone try using different shader (frankly this one is horrible), mybe try some textures more complex lighting that emphesis the patal. You can also try using the z-blur plug-in to get a depth of field effect an thuss adding more depth to the pic. It’s a most excellent pic for a newbie (and dare I to say very good even for the finished projects level of works).

Work on the petals, right now they look a bit stiff and paper-like

Nice Work…

I agree with Kansas_15, the petals seem a bit too stiff…