FIRST try at some kind of realism

Here’s a pic i cooked up inabout 30 minutes…

I think its pretty good and yes the smoothness of the displacements could be better but that’ll be some other time.

And also i do realize that the BG of the image hasn’t got a ceiling yet and therefore the reflection isn’t right in the shiney ball.

Here it is:
Salt Shakers

I’m no expert but I like your picture. Maybe the DOF is a little narrow making the nearest shaker look odd but maybe thats just my laptop display. Is it a yafray render? Any post processing?

Looks pretty good! A couple of small crits. First, perhaps increase the DOF. The blur in the foreground and background is a bit much.

A related crit is the reflection in the shiny ball; If the depth of field is short in the image, it will be short in the reflections as well (i.e., distant reflected objects will be blurred).

Scott

Very nice done!! How did you make that brilliant floor?
I think you should work a litlle with the glass texture, for eksampel by making it brighter.
But indeed nice.

thanks all so far for the crits/comment…yah i’ll work on the blur and stuff.

yah its a yafray render

after work tonight about 10:30 central time i’ll work on those and prolly upload a pic by maybe 11:00 or 11:15 if it doesnt take too long

oh and i used an image for the floor and enabled the Disp option in the Texture Map to or whatever tab and set the Disp slider to mayybeee .03
Then i set SubSurf to 3…which isnt the best but i didnt want it to take too long and also i SubDiv’ed the plane several times. The end result was a nice rocky tiled look with sorta smooth mortor in between them

here is a new updated version and the glass looks a lot better along with the tiles

i still have to work on the background environment…

New Salt Shakers