Flashes of light during Eevee renders?

I’ll preface this with an apology because I’m canadian. Sorry if this has been asked a thousand times I’m not even sure how to google it beyond flickering lights in EEvee renders.

I am having an issue when I render in EEvee where I get these little pots of light, at first I thought it was lighting sources that were way too bright bouncing off reflective surfaces but it’s happening in random low lighting situations as well and I was hoping someone could let me know if there’s something I’m doing that’s causing it or if it’s an actual issue.

You can see it on Frame 18 of my example below.

Imgur - Example
Giphy - Example

If there’s anything else I can attach to help figure out what’s going on I’d be happy to.

can you upload your .blend file?

Pasteall.org/blend/ is a handy platform for sharing .blends.

I was a dummy noob and just kept working on that file and didn’t save it before I posted this so I went through some older projects that were doing the same thing and I was able to reproduce it in this one.

Giphy - Example

Pasteall - Blender Project - Tubes.blend

So, the pointlight that is rotating around the veiny tube thing is causing sharp glossy highlights.

You can eliminate that by reducing the specular value of that light:

1 Like

Thank you so much I’m going to play with that. That was very helpful!

I tried turning the specular value down on the lights, that didn’t work so I tried removing it from all the materials, but it’s still happening unfortunately.

Here’s my blender file with all the changes.

Blender File

Sorry, but I don’t get what your seeing on yours at all, I only get a transitional flash when it re-starts from 300 to 0, and you get that same effect in eeVee when the shaders have to update…if rendered to an anim file it never happens.

I got rid of that by turning off screen space reflections, which wasn’t really doing anything. It now plays at 128 samples at 60fps without a glitch.

1 Like

Hi.