Flat image, image improvements, render flat

Can i have some tips on how you would improve this image. I am open to any type of feedback. Thank you.

3 Likes

Hmmm…I’m guessing you used Eevee for this, as opposed to Cycles? If so, you’ll need to play around with the shadow settings (check both the Render tab and the Properties tab for each of your individual lights.) I’m no expert with Eevee, but generally it’s the shadowing/shadow calculations that you really need to tweak on a scene-by-scene basis to get good-looking results. I think the main thing in this render is just that the lighting is very flat and borderline ambient; clearly there are shadows under the counter and the shelf, but they feel too soft to be convincing.

Also, keep in mind that World Lighting/Global Illumination works differently in Eevee than in Cycles. In Eevee, GI will just make everything brighter. Which is fine if you know what you’re doing, and having a little bit of GI always helps (I usually stay between 0.1 and 0.3 of the default.)

Another thing you could do is add some trim or baseboard along the floor, plus some cornices along the ceiling. Might also help to put a bevel modifier on the room to help smooth the perfect 90-degree angle of where the walls meet. Little details like that have a disproportionate impact on the final render, something I learned the hard way when I was just starting out. :sweat_smile::sweat_smile::sweat_smile:

Good luck, and happy Blending! Looking forward to see what you make next.

1 Like

Thanks for this feedback, I greatly appreciate it.

The image was actually rendered in cycles :joy:

However i have done a few changes now with the lighting mainly.

I deleted the wall on the left and put a sun light outside of the room. It seems to have improved it a lot.

I will try and add some edging to floor and ceiling and see how that looks, but is there any other things that can be improved for a more realistic look?

Thanks

3 Likes

:rofl::rofl::rofl: