Flesh and Bones

Hello Everyone:

Was just looking at a human model here:

http://www.indigorenderer.com/joomla/component/option,com_gallery2/Itemid,26/?g2_itemId=197

I noticed he doesn’t look 100% natural because he doesn’t really have too much of a ribcage. In a person that size - you could probably see their ribs…

This brings up and interesting modeling question I have had for some time.
(Remember I am still pretty new to all this, so bear with me on some of my weak points.)

Suppose you made a skeleton, and then made the muscles to go over it - how would you (for lack of a better term) “work” them together? As in a rib cage, you would want the muscles to define where the bones are underneath them, right? But, when modeling with meshes - it’s like they pass right through one another.

Another example might be like if you tried to put a watch (as an independent object) onto a modeled wrist - how would you make the watch not pass through the skin of the wrist, but actually cinch it enough to make it look like it was snug around the wrist?

Similar questions arise with clothes or muscles themselves. Fabric and cloth seems to be handled a bit differently, but suppose you had an arm flexion, and then you didnt want the forearm muscles to pass through the biceps when fully flexed.

See what I mean?

:spin: