Fluid Sym - Logo displacing water (splash) - Smaller drops?

Hello,
I have an animation where a logo is dropping into water. It’s working in basic form but the logo seems to be displacing too much water and not creating small enough particles so as to look realistic.

Would this be due to having too low a number of mesh in the water OR is it a parameter in the Fluid Dynamics I have over looked?

Does subdivision of the existing polys help or is it all determined in the “slip” values?

I’d like to see real world water effects where if you have a donut landing in water, water should also blast trough the center not just the outer envelope.

And my total noob question - Why on “render image” is the fluid distortions not show and only a flat surface rendered?
Blender 2.65

http://sgdesign.com/tmp/LogoFluidDisplace.blend.zip

And my total noob question - Why on “render image” is the fluid distortions not show and only a flat surface rendered?
Blender 2.65
In the domain settings
have you set different fluid resolutions for the rendered image and 3d viewport
Are you using other modifiers ?

Difficult to give precise answers as you haven’t attached your blend file

Added bland file to original post.

Blend File attached to original post.

Here, I modified your scene a little.

1. For the collision object I used some modifiers to get more regular geometry, which should be fixed even better but I don’t have the time
  2. Your fluid object was visible and renderable obscuring your baked domain
  3. I upped the resolution
  4. Enlarged the domain because some of the fluid stuck to the roof and created problems.

What you can do to improve further:

1. Slow down the simulation 2X or 3X by changing the duration of the bake and adding frames accordingly, also slow down the dip
  2. Simulate fluid interaction with the logo by slowing it down even further as it breaches the fluid surface (since the simulation is not two way you are pushing the fluid way too much making it explode)