Forget wanting to have deferred lighting in the BGE: Paper on Inferred lighting

http://graphics.cs.uiuc.edu/~kircher/inferred/inferred_lighting_paper.pdf

It’s similar to deferred lighting in a way that you can have tons of lights at decent framerates, but Inferred lighting has big advantages which include full support for transparent and alpha faces and has more flexible support for materials.

Inferred lighting, if brought into the BGE will allow for better support of the current GLSL shading capabilities than Deferred lighting could ever do.

The .pdf is kind-of a big size, but it should show why future development of the BGE’s graphical capabilities should go the route described instead of just Deferred.

So, you are planning on implementing this into the BGE? If so, I’m all for that. Alpha mapped shadows was something I’ve always wanted put in. Sounds like it will be faster than deffered lighting too.

gill

I’m no developer so I’m unable to do anything to add features to the BGE, I’m just putting this out there for interested users as well as those who know how to do OpenGL coding in the BGE source code.

And of course show others that there’s a better technique out there than deferred lighting in which various people here have touted as a must have feature for the BGE.

Wow, that looks really promising! I hope this make it into a 2.5 test build!

Impressive. I’d like to have that ability. I’d settle for 15 lights in a scene. At this point, I’m pushing it at 8 or so.

On a realated, topic, when do you think the GE will allow area, sun and hemi light shadows? I’d like my flickering torch lights to cast real-time, flickering shadows - not possible with a spot light, as a torch casts omni-directional light, like an area lamp.

You can make an omni-lamp cast realtime shadows by taking six spotlights, setting the shape to square, removing all blur from the edges, and making them all face at right angles to each other. See attached screenshot and .blend.