Forgotten

I’m still new to Blender, so this project is mainly to work on my lighting and compositional skills. I’m going for a dark underwater feel, like looking through the camera of one of those small submarines floating along the bottom of the ocean. There’s still some texture work to be done, mostly on the “eye” casing, and I’ll probably add some more junk lying around it, but I think I’ve got the atmosphere about right. Any commments/suggestions?

https://webspace.utexas.edu/bpc55/3D/Forgotten23jpg

This looks well done. The sand is realistic. Particles in the sea look realistic. Perhaps it would look more realistic if the lighting was more bluish-green. Red is absorbed underwater.

indeed, nice feel to the scene!

red does get absorbed first (along with oranges). this process follows the spectrum on down to blue and green being absorved last. So the red and yellow wires on the eye would not be red and yellow anymore :wink:

also, the particles really add a great effect to the scene, but i would consider maybe scattering them all along the cone of the two lights? let them get smaller and more defined further out from the camera.

i also really like the light in the eye, it looks quite good.

If a light is at the bottom of the ocean with no means of electricity supply can it light up? :o

The lighting looks good though and the sand and the model. The background is streaky for some reason. I think that what would add to the sense of depth and forgottenness is if you used a volumetric effect like fog to simulate the murky depths.

we’re artists not logisticians… :wink: but newayz u should give the two lights volumetric halos… it wud give the effect of the light cone more outlined and cool looking…

red does get absorbed first (along with oranges). this process follows the spectrum on down to blue and green being absorved last

I never would’ve thought of that. Thanks!