fort modelling

hey, im looking for a little help or advice on a project of mine. ive been trying to make a model of the knock john fort in blender (knock john and its history is pretty neat in my opinion, hence the model) but im not having much luck with the basic design of it. im still pretty new to blender but have a little experience, so any help/ideas on a good way to go about it would be much appreciated (:

hopefully the attached picture of the fort works too so anyone can get an idea of what im trying to do.
http://s0.geograph.org.uk/photos/18/09/180936_80ef8bc7.jpg

Modelling this is pretty basic (But you are gonna need more reference pics, like from the top and side), the real challenge would be the texturing and lighting (i think).

I’m assuming that you have not much experience in modelling, so with that in mind, here are some tips:

1. Work systematically - that means, don’t dive into extremely complex modelling straight away, first do the basic stuff, (two cylinders for the pillars, and some flattened cubes and planes for the platform on top…) this is just to get the basic design and proportions right. Later you can start adding the detail.

2. Don’t worry about textures before modelling is done.

3. Don’t worry about lighting before texturing is done.

4. save the water until last, to avoid to many verts.

:):slight_smile:

when youre finished with the rest of the scene, you can use the new ocean simulator for the water.

Just what I was thinking…

I modelled a whole quick example of the fort, but I can’t get the **** uploaded!! Any Idea why?

Anyway, a good place to find textures is over at CGTextures, but you have to register (Its free).

:slight_smile: