from blender to 3dsmax or maya?

I’ve been using blender for years and know the ins and outs of how it works. I decided though, that for videos and VFX, 3dsmax is more valuable. I’m not new to moving in 3d space and modeling skills but the lack of hotkeys and shortcuts in 3dsmax is frustrating. Are there and good resources to help me switch over? But I don’t want tutorials just telling me how to navigate 3d space and things like that but rather how the UI of 3dsmax works. Or should I try Maya? Which is closer to blender? I’m a student so I can get both for free. Keep in mind though I want to use it for VFX. I know there are many matchmoving programs for 3dsmax and almost none compatible with blender. Is this the same for Maya? Basically, I’m asking, for VFX and similarity to blender, which is better, Maya or 3dsmax?

Why not try both out?
I have come to prefer Maya over Max… but tbh I’m not entirely sure why anymore. The hotbox is very nice…but I don’t think it’s the reason.
Max has a butt-ton of hotkeys and you can configure either of those packages to have a layout more familiar to Blender. If you want to get into either package, check Digital Tutors getting started videos. They are mostly free but you have to pick through them to skip the “this is X Y and Z” etc… I have had the same problems attempting to transition into Blender… and it can be frustrating. There is a ton of documentation and support out there though. 3d Total has a ton of free tutorials for both as well. If you don’t mind ponying up for a one-month sub to Digital Tutors’ premium content, their up to date “intro to” videos are insanely awesome.

Thanks! Can you set the hotkeys in Maya as well as Max?

Yeah, just make sure you look at the corresponding list to make sure you’re not overriding something important. I can’t remember but I think they give you a warning and a chance to rebind either the original or the new one if there is a conflict. Again… it’s better to check first but yeah.