暴食妃の剣 From Boushoku-Hi No Ken The king of gluttony, Beelzebub

Hello everyone! Before you say anything about how inappropriate it is (which I’ve been constantly being hammered with as I’ve been working on this character) I honestly don’t think it’s something that people should be too fussed about. That being said, the manga, “暴食妃の剣 Boushoku-Hi No Ken”
the manga gave me so many cool scenes that I wanted to learn from, and translate it into blender.

Now, I have never done anything remotely like this before (other than old disney styled character, and turns out that anime and disney style are quite apart) and trying to get the compositing and lighting and all the texture right to achieve that authentic anime- 3D look that other of the artists are doing these days with the youtube sculpting video. (also trying to differentiate myself)

From Boushoku-Hi No Ken
The king of gluttony, Beelzebub

I am trying to recreate that speed and power, as well as making a beutifully lit scene (while staying true to the orignal art) and honestly, I am stuck.

Can anyone give me help…?
https://twitter.com/Jay_PERMAFROST

1 Like

A small update to the lighting and the proportions!

https://twitter.com/Jay_PERMAFROST
https://www.artstation.com/jaychoi

Another update on her hair!
Based on the community feedback, I decided on hair cards instead of particles!
Cleaning up her hair and shaping it!

Good thing that you post the updates, the result is much better now. :slight_smile:

I have found the same idea when translating a picture from 2D to 3D I will definitely put twice the effort in shaping (shape keys - lattice - mesh deform). It means to forgetting everything about 3D and think only in 2D.

1 Like

Lattice and mesh deform are such a good idea! Yeah gotta bend the shapes!

At first I was very anxious because using such methods is totally against to how 3D content works.