From C4D to Blender 2.8

hi guys, i am very happy to see that there is many going on in the blender universe!
I have some questions about Blender 2.8. So far I have spent some time with Cinema 4D and I know a little there. I’m not a professional, I do this because I enjoy it. But I want to switch to Blender now. I find it very difficult to change. While I’ve already looked at some entry-level tutorials, I don’t feel really smarter. Can perhaps one of you give me some tips to help me think differently? What are the big differences between 2.8 and C4D. How do i have to rethink? Do you know good tutorials that allow me to help and get started well?
I’m particularly interested in Stilllife and hard surface modelling, architecture and sci-fi, also a little bit of interior. I’m rather less interested in animation. Node-based work I know about the Octane Renderer. I also bought the instructions for the Cycles Renderer-but I have to start with this:D.
I’ve also signed up to the cloud-I have no idea how to integrate the addons … Please excuse my stupidity. I am currently very overwhelmed by the many possibilities and the community. I don’t know where to start. Perhaps this is my main question: Where should I start?

thanks a lot and have nice day!

I do use Cinema 4D since R11. I don’t think you need to rething much at all. The bigger difference is between the drag and drop of C4D and the modifiers. A Subdivision Surface in Blender is not an object which you put a geometry in, but rather something like the C4D’s tags. So, everything that you change your mesh behavior is a modifier/tag.
You will only model on Edit Mode, it’s like turn the primitive editable in C4D’s Language. The main differecente is that in Blender you can toggle back to Object mode.

1 Like

Hi, thx for your reply.
iam testing the modifiers. there are similiar to the mograph options in cinema, u are right.