From Concept to Game Character ... learning all the way !

Hi All,
I’m new to Blender here, I want to learn the whole process of making a high rez character and breaking it down to a low res, and maybe some basic rigging. So, starting here; just a drawing …

This Pirate chick has a wheel instead of a peg-leg; So she can scoot along on it like a skateboard :stuck_out_tongue: though I’ll design an alternate ‘normal’ leg too so I can practice making a walk cycle. Figure.

So what’s next ? I guess I need a front and side view to work from. So I’m still on paper for the minute …

If you’re reading, feel free to pitch in with advice !

The green shirt and red head band are throwing me. I’d recommend playing with some other colors maybe.

I think now before you draw your modeling sheet that you decide what your limitations are going to be. Texture sheet sizes, types of textures sheets, final poly count, etc. Some of these may influence the model sheet.

Thanks Jessegp, I’m not going to worry too much about the colours for now, I can come up with a bunch of alternatives later.

I don’t really have enough experience to alter my model sheet for the target model size, that’s one of the things that I’m hoping to learn by trial and error ! I want to make a high rez version, and then bake a low rez version from that.

Here’s my model sheet :slight_smile:

I’ve removed her tailcoat and wooden leg for clarity, I anticipate modeling both seperately.
And I’m currently panicking about the ruffles :wink:

The head/face isn’t in in a great deal of detail - I figure on roughing that in for now, and sorting out decent reference for her face when I need it.

Attachments

Nice drawings I love your character design, if you are stuck for specs you could use what the dominance war guys use 12.5K triangles and 2k texture maps. I will keep an eye out for this thread because am dying to see where you go with it.