Full featured animation

I’m new to animation, but I’d like to know in advance how far can a small team go with Blender in regards to a full featured animation movie. I know of Sintel and Cosmos Laundromat, but these are shorts.

First, my thinking for the workflow. I individually create and rig the characters and props, in separate files. I then import them into a scene with a few cameras, creating the world, possibly with a terrain of about 2-3 kms. I start animating cameras, characters, props, and particle effects. I render, and continue with a video editor if necessary (I know Blender has its own module for that).

My questions. On a decent PC (4GHz quadcore i7, 16GB RAM, GTX 980), can Blender handle a detailed world this big at once? I mean, can I have the whole world loaded, and move the cameras freely? Should I divide the movie in scenes for better performance and, if so, is there a scene manager of some sorts for that? Any recent tutorials you’d recommend on the subject?

Cheers.

Home movies are shot ‘seat of the pants’. Everyone knows how horrid those are. You don’t proceed with a ‘full featured animation’ by building a world and stocking it with props and actors. You proceed by writing a story, developing a storyboard, making a shot list, and then modeling what you will see in the camera in each shot. If the clerk behind the counter is only going to be seen waist up, why model his legs and feet? Wasted time. And animation is one place where you cannot afford wasted time.

Most of the techniques of animation, in fact, are developed around avoiding wasted time, since animators time is expensive, and planning is cheap. Now, you may not be paying anyone to do your animation, but you are spending your time, and you don’t want to waste that, either.