Furniture

Hi all,

Its my first time here. I have recently finished a model of a desk/chest/commode (i dont really know how to translate it to english, its that desk we have next to our bed). I have used Blender 2.49 including rendering. This is as small project for the Faculty and it will be evaluated for a final classification. I would like to know your opinions, critics, suggestion, hints, about it. This is my very first blender model.

http://img52.imageshack.us/img52/3954/renderfinalimagem.jpg

Thank you
Nuno

I’d pull the hardness a bit higher, but it looks very nice

one thing though, your composition could be improved, at the moment the background is not interesting, so it shouldn’t take up so much of the actual picture, also the pedestal only makes the cabinet look very thin and high

Well done, an excellent first model the texturing is very nice. To give you a bit of criticism, the lighting could do with some work and for a studio shot, the tube plinth is an unnecessary distraction. Stick at it and you’ll be amazed how much you improve over time!

Hi,

First of all thank you for your comments and sorry for my replying delay. I have followed some of your advices and cut, scale, resize, did some retouches, specifically to the model. But i have been struggling with the materials, textures and lightning. They are more complex and dificult to manage than i though. Maybe because i want them to be fairly realistic and dont know the exact paths/commands/Blender options to achieve that. I think i didnt told you the history behind this model but im trying to make an aproximate replica of an old furniture desk/commode i have in my room. Its a first half 20th century chestnut desk/commode. Chestnut was, and it still is a traditional wood to use in both popular and fine handmade furniture. Well i didnt finish the remake/overhaul of the furniture but here it goes the changes i have made:
http://img801.imageshack.us/img801/8656/rendertextparcial.jpg