Future of modeling tools in Blender?

Hello,

just saw (again) in the gallery of blender.org and there are wonderful renderings - especially the interior and mechanical things. As for modeling I’m a beginner and I believe it will take a long time to reach a level where I can say it’s ok (for me). But nonetheless I’m a professional in 2D graphics and on the way to 3D. My interest mainly is modeling of architectural and mechanical things (product design). I play around with blender since about 2 years and although I’ve tested demos of other 3D programs I always came back to blender (also 'cause it’s open source of course!). But when I start to modeling I always come to the point where I hope there was a “line tool” (like in “Anim8or” for example) or a good spline tool (like in “Art of Illusion” for example). I know there is a “path tool” and a “bezier curve” but to me those tools are’nt very handy. Maybe we can expect also better modeling tools with the next release of blender (beneath the revision of the UI)?

Next question: as I mentioned above, how can one achieve those beautiful render results? Do I have to render with YafRay and the highest “AA” and “GI” and so on (don’t know too much about this settings) and have to wait 20 hours or longer for the rendering output or could I achieve this also with the blender internal render engine with special settings in a shorter time? (I know it’s of course very important how complex a scene is).

Thanks for any hints.

Could you describe those curve tools you mentioned better? It doesn’t help much to mention “line tool” like in Anim8or. I know curves are not perfect but I think you get pretty far with the handle types we have in Blender. I am interested in hearing a concrete proposal about how curves could be made better. Be as clear as possible (use images if possible) and explain how the tools would fit the current user interface.