Game Engine crashes Blender!

hi guys!
im a noob on blender, but i wanted to try out the game engine.
the problem is: when i got my game ready and press “p” in order to start the game engine, my blender crashes and there’s a window saying that blender has to get quitted.

im sure there’s already a thread in which this question is answered, but the search-function of the forum didn’t give fitting results and i hope, anyone can help me…
oh, and my OS is windowsXP, blender version 2.45

looking forward to your answers :slight_smile:

Have you tried a reinstall?

What kind of graphics hardware do you have, and does it have the latest drivers?

If you post the .blend file we can test it.

Hmmm, using the forum search sucks, this is true. Use google advanced search and put the URL, blenderartists.org as a site parameter.

You will get much better results.

OK, now what is in your scene? do you have several models? Just a couple? We need more information.

Does it work with only the default box model?

Most times when the GE crashes it has been because a model in the scene has duplicate vertices. The GE cannot manage duplicate verts in the same space of one model, and it will crash fast, with that same error.

So check that, and be sure to always remove duplicate vertices. This happens a lot when a user copies a model from someplace and then makes changes to it.

Sometimes verts get tucked underneath and you dont even notice them. An easy way to get this taken care of is to join them with ctrl-m.

Hope that helps and you dont have to install again.

try to install blender 2.42a or 2.41 try that i have to uninstall 2.45 i when back to blender 2.42 a i lke 2.44 its nice but it have bugs to fix but next year it going to be blender 2.50 update: cs exporter now cs going to come with blender and newer logic brick 2d ,particles and more… i can’t wait :slight_smile:

ok, this is the .blend file, an easy test of the rolling physics: