Game runs rather slow...

Having an issue with game running rather slowly. There are quite a few objects and some have a fair amount of verticies. My system isn’t dated either, it’s a quad core 2.6ghz i5 with a Radeon HD 5700 and 4 gigs of ram…I didn’t figure it would run this slow however. This is more of an interactive tutorial more then a game so it doesn’t need to be flashy. I’m still kinda new to blender and I was just curious if there were any ways to make this run a little faster other then going back and re-drawing some of these objects to use fewer verticies. Also every object has a script to change its color on mouse over. I’m basically just looking for some suggestions as how to tweek for the fastest performance. Willing to sacrafice shades/lighting effects things of that matter…anyone have any suggestions?

Edit
Verticies: 52778
Faces: 56399

Should that many verticies drastically effect performance?

Hm… How many fps is it running at? Are you using a lot of physics/collision enabled objects? Too much physics calculation is a big slowdown in my experience.

It runs at a solid 60fps until a mouseover event. Then it drops as low as 1.4fps whenever you mouseover an object. Every object has a mouseover event tied to it along with a script to change the object’s color. The best way to describe it would be an ammo crate. Lets say you have a crate thats 4 foot by 4 foot that’s filled with different types of shell casings. I’m trying to remove the different casings from the crate.(mouseover and left mouse click sensors tied to an edit object event to end object). That’s basically what I got going on.

If you have the renderer set to “Blender Game”, you can enable the profiler. This can be done through the game menu on the info header, or under display in the render options. This could help give you some idea of where the bottleneck might be.

I would think 60k polygons is fine.

[edit]