GE n00b looking for advice

Hi folks,

I’m a published fantasy and SF author (Asimov’s, Analog, Realms of Fantasy) who wants to break into writing for video games. I’ve been working in software documentation for 15+ years.

I decided to put together a team to create an original game as a portfolio piece, and we’re using Blender because it’s one-stop shopping (3-D modeling, animation, and GE). Plus it’s free. :slight_smile:

The game concept is well developed. I’m doing the writing, and a developer friend will handle the Python scripting. We even have a professional soundtrack artist who’ll do music and sound effects.

What we don’t have is an artist (or artists). After spending a couple of months running through Blender tutorials, I’ve learned that my art skills just aren’t up for the job – not if I want the game to reach its potential.

So here are my questions:

• How important is it to find someone local? I would really like to be able to meet with an artist in person, but that limits the pool I could draw from. (I live in the Seattle area.)
  • How do you go about finding the right artist? I see forum threads where folks advertise games in progress, but I could use some advice in sifting through and avoiding common pitfalls.
  • Am I crazy to think I could find someone willing to work for a percentage of any money we may make, which essentially probably means working for free?

I think we have a great concept, and we’ve been careful to keep it simple and fairly short; we’re hoping to have something to show in 6-12 months. Our plan is to release individual levels of the game as episodes, so we could finish something more quickly. It’s a 3D adventure-platformer-puzzle game.

Thanks in advance,

Melissa

I think that there is some comunity foruns created exclusively( this word exist?) to form a team to create games, google it and i think that you ll find people there.