Gear animation

Hey guys!

I’ve been all over the web today trying to find how I can put together several gears, spin one and make them all move. I’m using Blender 2.5 Beta and I’m very new to the interface. I’ve been trying to work with soft body but…zero luck.
Any ideas?

Well, it doesn’t make sense to use soft bodies because gears are hard.
Copy rotation constraints might be all you need.
If not, you’ll have to learn how to use drivers.
Drivers hook one action to another. ie. the spinning action of one gear to the spinning action of another gear

Yeah I thought the best I’d get is a hard rubber…I’ll check the net on some driver stuff.
Thanks for the answer :slight_smile:

Look to blendercookie.com, I remember Jonathan did a tut on this, but it’s been a long time ago, so you’d have to search for it.

Randy

Hmmm. Will do. I’ll see what I can find and I’ll post it if I find something usefull.

I presume this is what you mean Randy. It’s a great tutorial.:slight_smile: But what if you have two gears with separate diameters?

if you download the old zip with the old blender 2.49b- or c , youll get a file in there doing exactly you need yours to do but in real time…may be of help to yah, plus a whole lot of other blend files.