Gen

Hi ;
I am a newbie, and here is my question : how do we make games using blender ? Do you only use Python ? Can I use Python and blender combined with some other compiled programming language like C or C++ ?
this is the answer I received in blender’s forum

"you don’t need to use python

it helps

you can’t use c/c++ without either:
modifying blender or
writing your c/c++ as a python module
ask on elysiun.com/forum more “how to do such and such in blender” questions"

I don’t get it…

What I am saying is : I don’t want to use blender and export runtimes - I want to make an application myself able to use the files created by blender - for example if I make 2 different characters - how can I make a program (with c++) to make them move and control their collisions and everything ? is that what we call a game engine ? how is it supposed to read for example the files containing the 3d charaters…

I am kind of lost here and I would really appreciate an answer to my question or any link to a nice tutorial.

• thank you very much for your replies - :smiley: ?

ah, now that is quite different

you’ll need to write a python exporter to your model format, and write your engine and stuff to load these files

I did this once, with an incredibly simple exporter [format was text and supports only triangles, and vertex colors. it also stored normals but the display routines didn’t use them: no lighting], and a 1500 line [c] game.

If you haven’t done anything like this before it is a good idea to not bite off more than you can chew [so that is so hard you’d give up].

well anway, if you get bored, you can look at my code [no makefiles, sorry linux users, you’ll have to do that: it must be linked to SDL and opengl iirc] on [copy/paste]
http://geocities.com/z3r0_d/files/almostbowling_nobinaries.zip (1.2Mb)
[a couple .blend files with my exporter are there too]

windows binary:
http://geocities.com/z3r0_d/files/almostBowling_windoze.zip (725k)
linux binary: