General animation and compositing questions

Ok, so im new to blender and animation in general. I have plans for making a animated show (about 15 mins per episode) that is based off a book. I will be having to create a huge city and an area outside of the city. I have a few questions regarding the best way to go about doing this.

My first question is: What would be the best way to animate this? Would it be to animate the characters and have the background scene composited in? Or to animate everything together in sequence? Most scenes, from what i have planned, wont consist of alot of background environment animations. Maybe a few people walking behind, or horses or vehicles etc, but a lot of the scenes wont have any of that, at this point of planning.

My second question is: Is there a way to do the compositing with special effects and all that jaz with linux? I’m trying to stay on linux because when i get on windows im tempted by the evil we call games! lol Thus, getting off track,

My third question is: Will i see any performance issues with a project this big with a Phenom II X4 945 with 8gb of ram? Like with all the poly’s and modeling going on? If not, what kind of system would you recommend? I understand rendering is going to take forever on a project this big and im hoping when the time comes that i will have the money to build a farm.

A lot of the stuff my test project will consist of will using some of the same features and techniques i plan on using in my series. Any advice or comments are always welcome.

I understand this isn’t going to happen over night and is going to consist of a lot of work, time, and dedication.

Thank you in advance.

Q1:
there are a few resons that people render characters and background separetly:

1. If you mess up, or want to revise some character animation, you don’t need to re-render everything.
  2. If it’s a still shot, you only need to render the BG once.