General question

(clash) #1

Hello lads, i’m a programer by trade but have never delved into modelling etc before.

I just have a few questions if someone wouldn’t mind answering them.

How difficult or how long would it take to build a single model including animations and textures for use in a commercial grade computer game. The model wouldn’t be excessively detailed in that it would be on a small scale, similiar to models in Soccer video games. As in, i’m a complete beginner to modelling etc, how long would such a task take me ? And could i expect it to be of any decent quality at the end ?

Paying someone to do this is out of the question since this will most likely be a free/opensource project for many reasons, the first being it wouldn’t sell.

As you might have guessed i’m thinking of developing a computer game for a sport that i play although its commercial value is doubtful at best. Its similiar to soccer in that it requires a field (bigger) with goalposts (more like rugby posts) on each end. Each team consisting of 15 players. Play of the ball is also through the air, not on the ground like in soccer.

Basically i’m wondering what features that Blender has that can aid me in this and could anyone please explain them in detail ?

Thank you very much.

(TRexian) #2

Well, I’m a noob to Blender, but have done some minor 3d work with another program. To do a fully featured model takes a long time, and since you’ll basically be learning Blender at the same time, I don’t think you can really estimate. You’d have to do some tutorials first, to get a feel for how things work, THEN actually work on the model.

The good news is, that after the first one, the rest of them won’t take nearly as long. :wink: :slight_smile:

The quality IMHO is directly proportional to the amount of time you want to put into it. The more time, the more quality.

(Duoas) #3

Yes, just getting over the learning curve is your only limitation.