General Texturing and Materials questions

Hey all… Really love using blender and can create basic materials and stuff… but i feel that using textures is something that is beyond my ability to make look good…

Now… I understand uv mapping pretty well from a 3ds max point of view so know about various map types etc… I’m studying it as part of a video game art perspective…

my questions are as follows…

If i apply a material to an object is there a way to overlay a texture to add details? i.e. building a car and using materials for the main paintwork then use a texture over the top…

Is there a way to stich uv’s like max? i.e. in the uv window?

is there a way to save uv’s to a specific file, like max, so i can close blender and not fear that i’ll need to start the uv process from scratch like i seem to now?

if i import an obj from max is there a way to import the maps and uv layouts? (more just to compare stuff and see how they render in blender! :-))

lastly… are there any good tutorials or books that go in depth into the texturing process in 2.65 or as late a version or at least a version where if i apply it to the version i’m using it will still make sense…

I feel this is something thats really halting my progress and its really bugging me… any help would be amazing

Thanks in advance!

yes, you can apply several texture channels to effect a variety of aspects including diffuse color, rendered normal, strength of specularity, reflectivity, etc.
yes. UVs can be stitched. I think the weld command is alt M, and i reccomend using the ‘live unwrap’ function, which will optimize surrounding UVs as you make adjustments to pinned ones.
I think there is still an export UV function probably in the export menu, but that only exports a bitmap, not the actual UV data.
I believe 3DSmax import supports UVs, though I could be wrong.