Generate PBR materials from photos | v0.1.0

Hi,

Material addon is a material creation and editing addon for Blender, which enables users to get desired PBR textures from simple flash photos. It offers 3 different approaches, two of which are based on recent machine learning studies and one based on a Compositor pipeline. The machine learning approaches called NeuralMaterial and MaterialGAN demand a CUDA supported and with appropriate CUDA drivers installed (works on both v10 and v11).

The addon is still in the early stages and this is my first time creating a Blender addon so any feedback is much appreciated. A more detailed tutorial of usage is being actively worked on.

The addon works on Blender 3.0, but should also work on versions later than 2.8. Addon also has an integrated updater based on https://github.com/CGCookie/blender-addon-updater.

For installation follow the steps mentioned in the first release.

Links:

For any questions and troubleshooting please reply in this thread or DM.

13 Likes

hey cool stuff my dude! how does it compare to this addon ? https://hugotini.github.io/deepbump

meybe you can take that algo too and put it in your addon

1 Like

This is excellent work. Thanks so much for sharing.

Any chance we could get a video showing how to install the python environment if that won’t be too much trouble.

@ulf3000 Never heard of deepbump before. Looks really good.

1 Like

Hey. Thank you for the positive feedback. As I see it his machine learning model relies on generating just the normal texture from a photo, while the two different approaches provided in my addon generate albedo, normal, roughness and specular map. I’ll see if it has any interesting advantages to its model setup, but it shouldn’t be hard to include.

Thank you for the feedback. I will be releasing a video with the installation tutorial