Generation has thrown an exception: Could not generate: Target rig is not visible

Hi,

I’m relatively new to blender, with my only renders being a rotating donut and a lowpoly world, both following guides.

I decided to follow a tutorial, using it as a base template for learning new things : this time, it was character creation and rigging.

I rig my first character fine using a premade skeleton, which worked. No errors in generating a rig. However, the same could not be said for the one I made next.

It was a custom skeleton I made. Going through the works, I slowly figured out things I did wrong, such as overlapping vertexes and clipping meshes not letting me parent the rigging, etc…

I come to the end of my learning journey thinking I had solved all the problems, when this error appears : Generation has thrown an exception: Could not generate: Target rig is not visible.

I’ve been tinkering around for a solid hour and a half, and when directly searching for the error, there was none on this particular issue.

Thus I am here, begging on my knees for help, with baggy eyes and even baggier brain cells.

(Also, I can’t seem to post any attachments since I’m a new account, so I’ll link it to a video.)

1 Like

Hey there, I’m sorry you’re dealing with this! The Generate Rig button runs a Python script very specifically tied to a Rigify rig. Unless you’re using a Rigify rig, the Generate Rig button won’t do anything, so with a custom rig, it’s not going to work. You could build your own rig generation script, you could just make some controller bones and do it piece by piece, or you can just not worry about the rig and just use the skeleton by itself. It’ll work perfectly, it’s a beautiful skeleton :slight_smile:

1 Like

Wait, so the Generate Rig function only works on the pre-set rigs? I can’t make my own rig to use in conjunction with Generate Rig?