Get An Object's Local X-Axis Rotation

Hey, I’m working on a simple camera system and I’ve gotten most of the basics working. However I’m still running into (what I believe is called) gimball lock- when the empty the camera is parented to rotates >= 90 degrees, it gets confused and starts to rotate in the opposite direction.

I’m trying to write a simple Python script to limit the rotation to 89 degrees (and probably 1 degree in the other direction to keep the camera from molesting the ground plane) on its x-axis to avoid this issue, but I’m having trouble finding the correct function to do this. I’ve looked at the BGE API reference and found one function that returns a 3x3 matrix of an object’s orientation (which is lost on me, as I have no working knowledge of linear algebra) and another of which I don’t quite understand the description.

Is there any way to get the x-axis rotation directly, or do I have to use some linear algebra sorcery to obtain it from this matrix? (They didn’t teach this in high school; we were told to just “punch matrix problems into the calculator.” : / )

Thanks in advance for any insight into this problem :slight_smile: Let me know if the Python script didn’t pack correctly.

EDIT:
I forgot to mention for anyone playing around with the .blend, the controls are:

Up Arrow: Look Up
Down Arrow Look Down
Left Arrow: Look Left
Right Arrow: Look Right

Q: Zoom In
A: Zoom Out

Attachments

camtest.blend (414 KB)

I don’t know much about matrix math and such, unfortunately (like you, I would like to know more about matrices, but Wikipedia’s a very general reference on the subject). I could sit down and figure it out, but I usually use Eulers, since they’re easier to deal with. To convert an orientation matrix into a euler (X, Y, and Z) angled rotation, you can use:

e = obj.orientation.to_euler()

Set the values with:

e.x = 3.1415

And then reset the orientation:

obj.orientation = e